A-cups forever!

29 thoughts on “A-cups forever!”

  1. omgah – i’m prayin for you my dear. keep us posted and its inspiring to see you break crack a joke or two at your small boobies (ditto for me)

  2. My hands were shaking as I scrolled through the post reading it all. I hope everything turns out to be just a false alarm and a pat on the back for yourself for actually finding it and taking charge!

    Also, does your doc have a list of SoCal associates, buddies, twitter friends? I am still endeavoring the search for a semi-decent healthcare provider.

    ❀

  3. Hey roomie. I was also really nervous reading through this post. I am too familiar with that feeling of dread from waiting (or in my case hypothesizing irrationally). I’m hoping and praying for good results. Oh, and I am also grateful for your small boobs. I am quite jealous of them.

    -Z

  4. Stay healthy, my a-cup friend. I’ll be waiting for the results of your ultrasound.

    I too am grateful you have small boobs so that it was easier to spot the lump and that you practice the checking of them for lumps. In fact, I’m a tad jealous of them myself.

  5. Yikes! Thank you so much for sharing this. Believe it or not, the night before last I dreamt that I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. Lost all my hair and left breast, but the part of the dream that haunted me most is that I didn’t know how to tell anyone – you and Brooklyn, specifically. So I didn’t and closed myself off. Am hoping I’d be able to carry myself more like you if this really does happen. In the meantime, am keeping my fingers crossed and thinking happy thoughts for you. Stay warm in NYC and please keep us posted.

  6. Hi Mayka,

    I know we haven’t talked since college, but I love reading your blog. I started reading it about 7 months ago (this fact may make a me weird cyber stalker/friend, but you’re a really good writer).

    I am really sorry you found a lump and you are in my thoughts.

    Nina

    1. Awww, Nina! Please, stalk away. πŸ™‚ Thank you for your thoughts. We’ll see how things go. A part of me has always wanted to shave my head, anyway. πŸ˜›

      And thanks for continuing to work on changing the world. πŸ˜‰

  7. I’m resisting every urge to say “you’ll be fine” because in reality there is a (small!) possibility you won’t. But you are one of the strongest people I know… and what I won’t resist saying is that I know you can get through anything that comes your way. You are in my thoughts as always. I’m proud of you for getting it checked out right away πŸ™‚

  8. Wow, I was totally shocked reading this, but I’m sending good vibes your way! Kudos for this post, especially the part about knowing your body and checking yourself regularly – a good reminder for me. And YAY for the itty bitty titty committee, of which I’m totally a member. I volunteer at the Race for the Cure in OC each year, and this year they had a girl there who was 12 years old, and had breast cancer. Very sad, and proof that it affects women (and even some men!) of all ages. Check yourselves regularly!

  9. Hi Mayka, I am glad you wrote this. You are brave! I actually just had an ultrasound of my ovaries, because my doctor was concerned. I was pretty nervous, because I remembered what it was like to go through the same procedure, and more, and end up being diagnosed with invasive beast cancer. It’s almost exactly two years ago, and I had that dooming sense of things repeating themselves. But, this time I was fine. The overwhelming majority of people are… but most people never even talk about being tested. So, yeah, I’m really glad you did.

    1. That’s good news about your latest ultrasound. πŸ™‚ Not that having breast cancer is anything positive, but I’m glad that I at least have a resource to talk to who understands the roller coaster this is…

    1. Blergh, have to wait til the beginning of next year for my ultrasound, but interestingly enough, I am growing less worried every day. If things turn out on the flip side, well Hell, we’ll bust out our sharpest nails.

Leave a Comment

