For Christmas, I got a new job.

21 thoughts on “For Christmas, I got a new job.”

  1. Congrats on the new job, and good advice on the whole networking thing! Sending over good thoughts on the ultrasound. I know it can be really stressful just waiting to find out. One day at a time.

  2. good job! things are going to be so exciting for you 🙂
    as for me, yes, blogging has been great for networking. i’ve met a lot of people in the food industry and i think it’ll prepare me better for a culinary career. but first… i needs to go to school :-p

    1. I dunno, man, the only culinary background my sister has is having dated men in the restaurant industry. 😛 Her education? A BS in Econ from Boston College. And now she runs the prepared foods at Whole Foods!

      Seems like you’ve already got the talent, if you want to take the risk. 🙂

  3. Hey Mook! I just wanted to first say Happy Birthday! 😀 That is, if you haven’t already gotten my FB message. >< I'm so glad that things are going well for you Mook! It really can be one of those "stories" as you say, but it's your own, and it's legit! I smiled while reading it, and Moxsie is lucky to have such a writer! Here's rooting for yah at your new job! Cheers! d(^0^)b

  4. First of all, thanks for introducing me to HootSuite – I had never heard about it, but just read your blog, watched the tutorial video, and signed up. You have that persuasive effect on me haha.

    Second of all, how awesome are you to snag a job via Twitter? I have to say, I’m not surprised. That was totally done in Mayka-fashion as I consider you one of the biggest social media queens I know. And I say that because I know you wouldn’t take that in a negative way. 🙂 Congrats, roomie!

  5. Hi Mayka,

    I was in the presentation you gave to our Comm 12 class last winter and am now writing an article for my journalism class about how students are increasingly building up there online presence to market themselves to future employers. Your blog post about how you got your job through twitter and access to info about the presentation is really helpful for my article. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Best,
    Jackie Fuhrman

Leave a Comment

