Good reading for eating.

3 thoughts on “Good reading for eating.”

    1. I really enjoyed it, Claire! The language was so rich and dense (I can only imagine how reading it in Japanese must be like!), the type of writing I love just consuming on a rainy day. But – and this may make me sound a little superficial – a good chunk of the time, I didn’t know what was going on. The novel takes such strange twists and turns. So, in terms of understanding everything? That didn’t happen. But in terms of being amazing to read and intriguing overall? Fantastic.

  1. Oh I totally know what you mean. I first read it when I was 15, in high school, then I picked it up again four years later. Completely different experience! I definitely know for sure that there was an abortion and a lot of fabricated memories / people. Also playing with how easily the mind can create/alter memories to protect oneself especially in times of tragedy, depression. I couldn’t explain the story to anyone though. All I say is that he introduces an array of plots and characters, and somehow, beautifully intertwines them in the end. and that’s the simple beauty of it, i think. 🙂 You should definitely read Dance Dance Dance or South of the Border, West of the Sun also.

Leave a Comment

